When Did The American Colonies And India Become Independent?


2 Answers

Saddaf K Profile
Saddaf K answered
In the beginning only thirteen colonies proclaimed independence from British rule. These were the Thirteen Colonies that were British colonies founded in North America between the years1607 (in which the colony Virginia was founded), and 1732 (in which Georgia was founded). Though the Great Britain held a number other colonies in North America too and some even in the West Indies, but the colonies that are referred to as the "thirteen" are the ones that rebelled against the British rule in 1775. The rebellion started in 1775 and ended in proclamation of independence by these thirteen colonies on July 4, 1776.

Names of the colonies that proclaimed independence are: the Province of New Hampshire, later became know as New Hampshire, The Province of Massachusetts Bay, which is now Massachusetts and Maine, The Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Now know as Rhode Island , the Connecticut Colony, now known as Connecticut, The Province of New York, now today as New York and Vermont, The Province of New Jersey, Now New Jersey, The Province of Pennsylvania, now called Pennsylvania, The Delaware Colony (before 1776, it was known asthe Lower Counties on Delaware), today its known as Delaware , The Province of Maryland, now Maryland, The Colony and Dominion of Virginia, today they are called Virginia, Kentucky and West Virginia, The Province of North Carolina, now North Carolina and Tennessee , The Province of South Carolina, now called South Carolina and the Province of Georgia, which is now knowns as Georgia

Now for India
The Indian independence movement briefly known as IIM refers to the struggle by the Indians to liberate their land from British rule. This movement involved a wide range of philosophies, rebellions and Indian political organizations. The Indian independence movement started in 1857 and ended in the emergence of India as a unified nation-state on August 15, 1947.

The Indian Rebellion of 1857 which was the first struggle undertaken for independence from the British rule was ignited when soldiers who were serving in the East India Company's Army (which was British owned) and Indian kingdoms decided to rebel against the British. However the revolt was crushed and afterwards the British divided the region into the Princely States and British India.

Small rebellions and continuous resentment against the British continued for almost a century until the emergence of the Congress and the Muslim League in the 1930s. In 1930, the Congress decided to lead a mass struggle which continued from the year 1930 and 1932. By the end of the decade of 1930s, later came the raising of the Indian National Army in 1942. It was done by Subhash Chandra Bose. The Indian National Army decided to run a unique military campaign to end British rule in India. Mutinies broke out in the army, the air force and the navy after the trial of Indian National Army officers at the Red Fort. Later on, The Congress started a civil disobedience movement under the leadership of Gandhi in 1942. This movement demanded that the British should leave India (It was called the Quit India Movement). Because of these movements and widespread communal riots in Calcutta, the British rule ended on the mid-night of 15th August, 1947. On August 14th an Independent Pakistan was announce. While on August 15th an independent India came into being.
maheen mirza Profile
maheen mirza answered
American colonies declared their historic independence on July 4, 1776 while Pakistan and India got independent on August 14 and August 15, 1947 respectively.

Answer Question